I lost my job today. What would you do?


43e39040Today’s Truth… I lost my job

I was laid off because of a budget cut.  I’ve been working since I was 15 years old. And I’ve never been laid off before.  I know it will take me some time to find a new job in the Communications/Marketing world.  Part of me feels depressed and useless.  The other part of me feels optimistic and is trying to see this time as a way to explore other outlets that I couldn’t with a full-time job.

In this market and in my field it could take 4-8 months to find a job.

What would you all do if you had 4-8 months off, beside applying for jobs everyday on Indeed.com?  

 

2 thoughts on “I lost my job today. What would you do?

  1. the same thing happened to me 6 years ago. The feeling sucked and yes wavered between being depressed and optimistic. you’re looking at it the right way though – trying to see it as a time to do explore other outlets. it is what i did, just dove into a hobby that i’d loved but only done sporadically. went and took a couple of classes that i’d have never had the time to do before and it let me to a new (happier) path in life. if you can afford it, take a little trip to de-stress from the layoff (even if just a weekend away in the next town). wishing you the best of luck and hoping that in a few years you’ll look back on this as a way the universe pushed you in a better direction! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

